Gala Auditions


Canceled for 2021 due to COVID-19 mandated closures

Each spring, CMS teachers recommend a limited number of high-performing students for Gala Auditions before an independent panel of judges, who evaluate their musical performance using predetermined criteria. Students with the highest scores are invited to perform in the Gala Recital and may receive merit-based scholarships toward continued study at CMS.

Deadline: Monday, May 9, 2022
Auditions: Saturday, May 21, 2022
Recital: Sunday, June 12, 2022

2019 Gala Recital & Scholarships

gala auditions and recital

Merit-based scholarship awards were presented to the highest-scoring students for outstanding work during the 2019-20 school year:

Muriel I. Frank Scholarship – Megumi Takahashi, flute
Jerome & Martha Markowitz Scholarship – Grace Zhang, piano
Joseph Maletz Scholarship – Nicholas Brogle, clarinet
Amaranth Scholar – Sean Riedy, piano
Great Expectations Scholarship – Damien Zeltzman, piano
Rising Star Scholarship – Sabrina Collings, flute
Rising Star Scholarship – Bianca Georges, piano
Rising Star Scholarship – Daniel Soloviev, piano
Rising Star Scholarship – Jenna John, piano
Schadt String Scholarship – Rachele Grigoli, violin
Schadt String Scholarship – Shriya Chitta, violin

George R. Schermerhorn Family Fund Award
Dr. Holly Roadfeldt, piano

Recognition Graduating High School Seniors
Chloe Wilcox, violin
Julia Young, piano

2019 Gala Performers (alphabetically by last name): Emma Arakkal, violin; Shira Bach, piano; Nicholas Brogle, clarinet; Shriya Chitta, violin; Sabrina Collings, flute; Bianca Georges, piano; Rachele Grigoli, violin; Talitha Harry, piano; Erica Harvey, clarinet; Melody Herrera, piano; Naomi Herrera, piano; Jenna John, piano; Sean Riedy, piano; Julie Sizer, piano; Daniel Soloviev, piano; Niva Sullivan, piano; Megumi Takahashi, flute; Samuel Truong, piano; Sabrina Truong, piano; Chloe Wilcox, violin; Julia Young, piano; Damien Zeltzman, piano; Grace Zhang, piano. Students were accompanied by Dr. David Saturen and Dr. Tzu-Hwa Ho on piano. Selections included “Poem” by C. T. Griffes, “Grand Duo Con-certant, Mvt. 1” by C. M. von Weber, and “Concertino” by C. Chaminade.

Thank you to our 2019 Gala Judges: Lora Krum, Northwestern Lehigh School District music educator, Barry Holben, retired VP Sales at Allen Organ Company; and Nathan Eckhart, CFO at C. F. Martin & Co.